Amnesia Memories Review

2015-05-11-163416

So awhile back I reviewed the show that was based off this. After I saw the anime I winded up getting the game and playing the whole thing through. I played all the routes and did pretty much everything the game had to offer. Is this series really bad like the anime represents it? Lets take a look~

Story:

Unlike the anime, the story is much more detailed. Since it’s a game, you get to play through alot of different stories. You get 5 characters but a pretty large amount of routes as well. Even though the bad ends mostly end with something bad happening and you never figuring things out, they still give insight into the characters and how they work which is interesting. The story also has elements of parallel universe travel, which will definitely appeal to the more sci fi crowd. This game actually falls in a few different genres other than Romance which is what’s really cool about it.

I also like how this game is a bit more realistic in certain aspects. It takes a bit to build a bond with the characters and for them to open up to you, much like how dating would work in real life. Sometimes the dialogue of this game can be very simplistic and sometimes the characters seem to act really OOC for the sake of creating drama, but we’ll get back to that later.

For the most part though, the game story is very good and the more fluffy scenes are fun and cute to watch. The pacing is infinitely better then it was in the anime and I love pretty much everything about it. I have no complaints other then the sometimes unneeded drama and over simplified dialogue.

Characters:

The characters in this game are good! Unlike the anime they have alot more depth and I winded up loving all them…except one who I won’t spoil the identity of. They all have intriguing backstories and though at times their personalities might need a bit more variety, they are still interesting to get to know and it feels very personal, which is amazing for a date sim.

Even the side characters in this game are fun. Granted one is a bit annoying at times but for the most part, they’re really fun and good to watch. With the characters though, sometimes they are written doing very OOC things, mostly for the sake of drama and the bad endings. I don’t think it’s necessary and it’s a bit annoying. Another annoying thing is the male characters saying “You shouldn’t do that or else I won’t be able to control myself” It’s very irritating at least to me. I also wish you had the option to be the more dominant one in the relationship. The game kind of forces you into a soft and frilly helpless archetype. Those are my only complaints in that area.

Art:

The art in this game is good! The outfits are good and everything about it is amazing. My only complaint is that I think the characters are a bit too lanky, even for date sim standards. Other then though, the character designs are good, the background art is good and the CG’s you get are also beautifully done! It’s the games high point for sure!

Music:

The music in this game is..meh. I like the opening theme alot and the ending is pretty, but the background music is kind of boring. Someone of it is nice but it is for the most part extremely repetitive and kind of plain. It’s not the high point, but it’s bearable to listen to and I guess it doesn’t need to be super flamboyant, since it’s only background music after all.

Voices:

All the voice work was really good! No complaints there either but I wish they were more emotional. I really liked Koki Miyata as Ukyo. His voice fit the character especially well! Everything about this is good or pretty good, nothing really bad to say about it!

Overall:

Overall, I’ll give this game a 4.6 out of 5 stars. Most things about this game are either really good or amazing and in my opinion there’s not much to complain about. There’s alot of unique ideas in this date sim and it’s kind of hard to bash it for that. The characters are interesting and well designed and the story writing and art was good for the most part. I’m sorry my review was a little short, but since I already did the anime,  and said alot about it, this was bound to be a bit shorter so I didn’t wind up repeating myself alot. If you want the game, you can buy it on steam, and I think you should! If you like date sims, you won’t regret it and it will definitely be an adventure for you!

I hope you enjoyed the review! Be sure to leave feedback and if you have anything you want me to review, feel free to request it! If I’ve seen it, I might make a post about it! I’m also sorry if the quality was a bit low on this review and seemed more rushed. I’ve been busy lately, but I still really wanted to write this for you guys!

 

 

Leave a Reply

