Active Raid: Kidou Kyoushuushitsu Dai Hakkei Review

77977

So here’s something kind of uncommon for me to watch. This show is actually the first Mecha Anime I’ve ever decided to watch. Based on what I’ve seen so far alot of people actually don’t like this show! I think I have a more balanced opinion though and honestly? People have been a bit overly harsh on it. Here’s my take on it!

Story: 

The biggest flaw of this anime does lie in it’s story, but it isn’t as bad as alot of people would lead you to believe. It does move unnecessarily fast at times and can be more silly then desired, considering the plot is actually kind of serious in tone once you get into it. It is a crime show after all, and a show like that should have more serious moments then silly ones. Without context alot of it’s dialogue seems absolutely silly but it’s something you have to watch in full to understand. Mythos is the most confusing aspect of the show but to be fair, the show is getting a second season so it might explain itself in the next season and be less confusing.

It’s earlier episodes are the most irritating since there is some filler involved but once you get past that point, it can actually pretty cool! At times this show can be pretty anti climatic, overly ridiculous, and is a bit complex for it’s more fast paced nature, but if you can look past it, it’s actually really nice and worth taking a look at!

Characters: 

Easily the best part of the show. These characters are awesome and well designed as well. The one thing that makes this anime better is how well developed they are. A few of the episodes just focus on their individual development and insecurities. It’s extremely clever and worthy of praise. It’s even more cool to watch when the issues the police force responds to corresponds with the issues they are going through. The development for the characters is handled very well and I absolutely loved it! I wish more of the winter anime for this year developed their characters this well! I have no complaints other then the fact that my favorite Kyoukai wasn’t shown as much. My only request is that they show him more this next season!

Art and Animation: 

The animation can sometimes be a little stiff and awkward on this show but it isn’t terribly noticeable. Most of the animation has very nice flow especially during the battle scenes. The animation on this show is good but the art is even better. I really love the colors, especially on the eyes of the characters. It’s style is very sleek and flows very nicely with the tone of the show. I have no complaints about it really.

Music: 

I loved the opening of the show, and I found myself singing along whenever it came on. The ending was a little less catchy but enjoyable regardless! The background music and the openings and ending fit the show very well! They’re cheerful when they should be and I really enjoyed it! I don’t have any complaints about it.

Voices:

The voices in the show are all familiar to me, well most of them anyway! I loved alot of the voices, and the more emotional bits were handled extremely well. Again, this area was done very well too, and all the voice actors did a very good job, even for the minor characters! I wish dubs were handled that well to be honest.

Overall: 

Overall I’m going to give this anime 4 out of 5 stars. People are way to mean to this show! There really isn’t much wrong with it, and it was actually significantly better then most of the shows that aired this winter if I’m being honest with myself. I’m extremely excited for the next season. I think if the second part takes it a little slower, and does filler stuff just a tad less, they’ll be sure to get a higher rating next time!

Thank you for reading my review! Feel free to leave feedback, it’s always appreciated! If you want me to review something feel free to request it as well! It seems I’ve been doing these reviews daily lately, heh. There will probably be alot more reviews lately, since alot of shows are ending in quick succession as of late. I might also be going to the movies this weekend to see Batman vs Superman so be sure to keep an eye out for that as well!

Leave a Reply

