Divine Gate Review

1500x500

Ah…it’s rare that an anime I review actually has a PSA attached. Don’t watch this show people, you’ll be doing yourself a favor. For the sake of your own mental health do not under any circumstances watch this anime equivalent of an M Night Shyamalan film. Hm? What’s that? You still want to know about it anyway? Alright, fine. You win. I’ll tell you about it but don’t say I didn’t warn you. I won’t be held responsible  for any mental damage you might get from even HEARING about it. Here it is, my review on Divine Gate.

Plot: 

This the most jumbled, inconsistent Anime I have EVER watched. It almost makes me sorry for bashing Charlotte the way I did, but people I have to be honest. This show has way to many things going  on and doesn’t at all handle itself well like say, Durarara does. There are gods, robots, humans with powers, a council…um…a clown?  A school? A dude who wants to cause despair and kind of just screws with people? Oh and that gate? For some reason they want to shut it even though it exposed humans to the wonders of many other worlds?  I…OK?

Having all these elements in one place can work, but this anime has no idea what it’s doing. It’s like one writer was assigned to one section and they all wrote separate scripts. Then they got together and were like. “Hmm…why don’t we just staple a page of yours…and then put your part after mine…and that’s our episode this week! That’ll totally work right?” That, or this story only makes sense in the authors head, and they just decided to use him because it was a slow day.

Then again though, when your anime is based off a phone game with mostly just chess pieces, what do you expect? 

I’m not saying it can’t be done, but here? It was done badly. The worst of the worst. To top it off the ending is the most anti climatic thing I’ve ever seen. Well Divine Gate, I guess you may as well disappoint me one last time before you leave. :sigh: For once in my life I actually have nothing positive to say about this plot. One episode even just focus’s on a confusing play that comes out of nowhere and isn’t even needed and just…I can’t. I can’t anymore-

Characters: 

This show has good characters. I hate to admit it, but it does. At least the three main ones anyway. They were developed a little but all the characters were pretty stiff. Even after seeing one of their backstories, you still don’t feel much for him despite everything. When he meets someone from his past in the climax, it’s as stiff and awkward as can be. There is a shitload of other characters, but you don’t give a damn about them. You can’t, they weren’t developed at all.

Even the main character’s aren’t developed, no one is fleshed out at all. It was so bad, I was actually rooting for the bad guy, Loki to kill them all. He was honestly the only enjoyable character. Even though he didn’t have much of a backstory, he was fun because he was kind of just a destructive force who liked chaos. I felt like it actually worked in his favor when he didn’t make much sense. That’s really all there is to say. If you ever decide to punish yourself and watch this crap, then fair warning. The characters aren’t the least bit sympathetic and you honestly start to wish Loki would just kill them all so you can be finally escape their blandness!

The designs were nice though. That’s really it.

Art and Animation: 

One of the high points of the show. The Art on this show is actually pretty, and really interesting to look at. It uses a different sort of color scheme that I don’t typically see in most show’s I’ve watched. I guess the best way to describe it would be the colors are more blunt. The art is good, and the character designs are nice to look at, which is what you want to see, especially on main characters.

The animation is pretty nice to. The fight scenes were pretty fun to watch. The movement isn’t really stiff in this show, except when they use CGI, which they do in some parts for some reason. The animation when compared to the other elements of the show isn’t bad at all. Then again though, comparing it to the plot of the show is a pretty low bar huh? Either way, it isn’t bad and is actually pretty good.

Music: 

Honestly? This is the best part of the show. The music is so good, it’s absolutely wasted on this show. I absolutely love the opening of this show. I’ve actually listening to it on repeat right now. It’s really good and the visuals combined with it, makes a really good opening! You honestly feel betrayed when the show starts. The ending is just as good, and the background music is also really good! Whoever was in charge of the music clearly put alot of effort into it, and I appreciate it immensely. It made the rest of it way more bearable.

Voices: 

The acting in this show is actually really good to! I know, surprising considering the rest of it but this show actually has a great cast! I liked Loki’s voice the most but the other ones were good too! They all fit the characters pretty well, and I enjoyed listening to it. Alot of the voices are ones I’ve heard the voices before though, so maybe that’s why. They have more experience I suppose.

Overall: 

Despite the fact that this anime has a few good elements like it’s art and music, a shitty thing is still a shitty thing no matter how nicely you decorate it. This show gets 1.5 out of 5 stars from me. Higher then most of my other lower ratings, but still bad. I don’t know who would even want to watch this, or why this is even getting a dub! Yes, you heard me right, a dub. So many cool other shows they could be doing, but no they decide on this. It’s confusing, it’s writing is all over the place, the characters are lazy and its one of the worst things I’ve watched in quite a long time and I am so glad it’s over.

Thank you for reading my review! If you like it feel free to leave feedback! Likes are always appreciated as well. If you have anything you want me to review, feel free to suggest it to me! If I’ve seen it I might review it! I could actually use some viewer help! I’m not actually sure which anime I should review next. A few ended this Winter Season that I could do but I’m not sure which one I want to do. I would actually appreciate a suggestion, if you have any!

Leave a Reply

