Top 10 TMNT 2003 Episodes

maxresdefault

Today’s entry will be dedicated to my childhood show! The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles! I’ll be honest I really don’t like the new cartoons or movies. I tried with all my might to watch and enjoy them but I couldn’t do it. This show to me though is honestly one of the best cartoons out there but it had it’s best and worst moments. Here are my Top 10 Episodes of the show!

10. SuperQuest 

Number 10 on my list is actually a Back To The Sewer episode. I actually liked BTTS and Fastforward and this episode was hilarious. I saw it as a kid when it first aired and still find it hilarious to this day. This episode has the turtles in an online RPG trying to win a box with Master Splinter’s data bits in it. Just to name a few funny things you can see this episode, they show Hun playing one of these games, Leonardo changing into other cute animals and Raphael getting turned into a frog. My words cannot do it justice, it has to be seen to be believed.

9. DNA Is Thicker Than Water 

This was an episode that stood out to me as a kid and probably started my love for Bad Guy going good plots. Anyone can change and deserves second chances is a lesson I like to write. A lot of shows focus on revenge and such and this was one of the few episodes that showed something a little different. Basically, the Dark Leonardo is injured in a fight when he protects Cody and the turtles give him a chance to change his ways.

I also like how the ending is a tad ambiguous. The Dark Leonardo did change but didn’t exactly switch sides. Maybe after being shown what could be, he did change but long after the turtles left. Or maybe he just stayed the same. Who knows, but this episode does have some nice drama and gives you something to think about.

8. H.A.T.E

A lot of the episodes of Turtles I am fond of seem to take place at the farmhouse. This is one of those episodes. It’s not the most popular one in the bunch, and it doesn’t have the greatest fight scenes either. It does, however, have a lot of Donatello and some great lines from him.

The highlight of this episode, however, is Casey’s mother who comes over to determine if she is good enough to marry her son while Donatello, Michaelangelo, and Raphael fight for their lives elsewhere. It is a funny episode and one I recommend for sure.  Casey’s mother is definitely one of my favorite side characters of all time in this show.

7. The King

It would be a crime if I didn’t put this here somewhere. It is one of my favorite episodes, not only because it focus’s on Donatello, but the fact that is truly is a touching tribute to Jack Kirby someone the creators of the turtles idolized. If you want to watch TMNT but want to skip certain episodes, then fine. This one is a MUST SEE. The plot is Donatello going to fix the shower’s heater but he finds Jack Kirby, who has a magic jewel that allows whatever he draws to come to life.

This episode is very touching and very sweet. It’s a bit solemn but it mostly treats death with a bit more optimism. True Kirby has left this world, but his legacy will live on forever. That and I think he’s in a much cooler place, much like the creators of this show do. That and this episode has a line that people who watched the show still use to this very day.

6. Nano/The Return of Nano 

Number 6 is going to two episodes rather than one. I know that’s kind of cheating but I feel the Nano episodes need to both be watched in close succession to fully get the feelings of it. When I was young, these episodes really distressed me. They would make me really thankful for my family and in his Return, I actually remember crying when I first watched it at the way Nano said “Daddy.” These episodes have some awesome fights and some great tearjerker moments in general. The second part also has some of my favorite scenes.

I feel like this episode teaches a few other lessons to without shoving the morals down your throat like other shows tend to do. In general it shows the importance of family and how easily the people we meet can shape our personalities and the way we behave, especially when we meet them at a young age. Despite the fact they made me cry, I love them~.

5. Bad Day 

I love the more spiritual/emotionally meaningful episodes of this show. This one was angsty, darker and just a ride from start to finish. I spent the whole episode thinking that they were pretty much dead. I knew there were more episodes after it which honestly should have clued me into the fact that something was up. Anything with the turtles showing their inner power is pretty much the best thing ever, hence, the reason why them in season 5 was so amazing. Not my favorite but amazing regardless.

Back to Bad Day, though, if you’re looking for a more comedic episode, you won’t find that here. This takes place in TMNT’s more dark and gritty season where pretty much everything was going wrong for the gang. It’s one of those episodes that make you feel like you can achieve any challenge in your way which is why I put it here.

4. The Ancient One 

An episode I could personally relate to, hence, the reason why I’m putting it here. This one was Leonardo finding himself again.  I think a lot of older siblings or just parental figures, in general, will relate to this. That and if you’re a perfectionist like me. I tend to be pretty brutal to myself when I make mistakes much like Leonardo. The fight with the rock creature was something that struck a core with me as I got older. One to watch if you’re a Leonardo fan, or if you need to remind yourself to be gentler on yourself and that you try your hardest and that’s all that matters.

3. Tales Of Leonardo 

This episode manages to be incredibly sad, and incredibly cute at the same time. It shows the turtles recovering from a battle with the Shredder and Leonardo being in very bad condition. It’s heavily implied he might die without actually saying it. The turtles slowly bring him back by telling him stories of the past all stories showing flashbacks of the turtle tots. It also shows some cute Fatherly Master Splinter. A great episode through and through~.

2. Same As It Never Was

This…just…no description is capable of doing this justice. These episodes were all the turtles going into other worlds. Donatello gets transported to one where the Shredder has taken over the planet and the family is estranged from each other. It’s sad, it’s dark and has a bittersweet ending to top it all off. That and it features Donatello, making it even better to me. Just…click it. You won’t be dissapointed I garuntee it.

1.The Darkness Within 

This episode. I know, you probably weren’t expecting it in the slightest. I love this episode though. I think it has alot of useful social commentary that you could apply to alot of different situations. It could be applied to a conversation about being greedy, corruption and confronting fear. Watching this episode always makes me feel very empowered and back when my anxiety was a little worse, I discovered this episode when I needed it most. It is an interesting mysterious episode, there are funny jokes, a more psychological take on things along with awesome fights and an absolutely horrifying villan. It’s just the best episode they ever made in my opinion because it also provides commentary on people and society that still manages to stay relavant even to this day.

Honorable Mentions:

  • Notes From The Underground Part 1, 2 and 3
  • The Shredder Strikes Back Part 1 and 2 
  • The Monster Hunter –
  • What a Croc 
  • The Christmas Aliens 
  • Exodus Part 2 
  • Cousin Sid 
  • Adventures In Turtle Sitting 
  • Return Of Savanti Part 1 and 2...kind of (More on that in my least favorite list, coming soon)
  • All of Season 5
  • Headlock Prime 
  • Graduation Day: Class of 2105
  • The Fall Of Darius Dunn
  • The Day of Awakening
  • Tempus Fugit
  • Wedding Bells and Bytes
  • Hacking Stockman
  • Incredible Shrinking Serling
  • Turtles Forever (I know this is a movie but…ugh this was great to-)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

